yuh-huh. That’d be me. My poor long-suffering blog! My life is crazy at the mo: between last week’s 1) annual review (emotionally trying), 2) postgrad conference at which paper was given (also emotionally trying, but eased a little by being completely exhausted and also hopped up on caffeine), 3) mixed-audience seminar at which paper was also given (so beyond being emotionally tried I was vague and smiley with all :-)), and of course, let us not forget 4) Friday’s pick-up of 40 3000 word assignments… well, let’s just say swamped. And of course, there’s 5) the marking of said assignments, 6) the writing of a paper for CSAA (anyone going? Drop me a line! contact form’s just up there, see it, to your right?), 7) the writing of a paper for ACRAWSA (ditto!) and of course 8 ) getting back to that damn thesis thing and finishing the final (! no, really: !!) chapter. And then of course the amorphous mass of editing, adding, cutting, bibliographing and so on that will go on and on and on until… it stops. (Probably, unfortunately, though I continue to cross fingers against it, some time after the money does. Gulp!)

So yes, craziness, basically. But in the name of nawty kittehs, I’m going to cheat and have e. e. cummings do my work for me (forgive the crapola of wordpress trying to do poetical editing):

Sonnet VII

I like my body when it is with your
body.      It is so quite new a thing.
Muscles better and nerves more.
i like your body.       i like what it does,
i like its hows.       i like to feel the spine
of your body and its bones,and the trembling
-firm-smooth ness and which i will
again and again and again
kiss,       i like kissing this and that of you,
i like,slowly stroking the,shocking fuzz
of your electric fur,and what-is-it comes
over parting flesh….And eyes big love-crumbs,

and possibly i like the thrill
of under me you so quite new

Quite a thing for a lover to whisper to you in the dark, n’est-ce pas?

